top of page

Prof. Emmanuel Kymakis

He is a Full Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the Hellenic Mediterranean University (HMU) and Vice-President of the new established HMU Research Center. He received the B.Eng. (First Class Honours) degree in Electrical Engineering & Electronics from Liverpool University in 1999 and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Cambridge University in 2003. He and Prof. Gehan Amaratunga are the inventors of the polymer-nanotube solar cell. Before joining HMU, he was a technical consultant offering engineering and consultancy services in the realization of photovoltaic and solar thermal power plants. His research is focused on the realization of advanced materials and solution processable optoelectronic and energy devices for emerging technologies and applications. In recent years, his research focussed on graphene and related 2D materials (GRMs) interfacial engineering of perovskite and organic solar cells for improved performance and stability, and on performance evaluation of PV systems in outdoor conditions. He has over 100 SCI publications with over 8.000 citations (h-index = 45), while he has an extensive experience in the management of research and industrial projects (4.4 M€ funding, implementation of 67.57 MWp of PVs). He was the Chairman and Organizer of the 1st international conference of organic and perovskite solar cells (2016) and the co-Chairman of the conference Nanotechnologies & Bionanosciences (2018). He has been an honorary lecturer at UConn and a recipient of an Isaac Newton and an EPSRC studentship. He was named as a 2014 ChemComm Emerging Investigator and has received two National Excellence Awards. He has served as a member of the founding General Assembly of the Hellenic Foundation for Research & Innovation (HFRI), a member of the Engineering sectoral scientific council of the National Council for Research & Innovation of Greece (NCRI) and a member of the Engineering thematic advisory council of HFRI. He is currently the Director of the interinstitutional Post-Graduate Program “Nanotechnology for Energy Applications and leader of the Energy Generation WP of the FET-Flagship Initiative Graphene.


Name, Title

bottom of page